Your browser is no longer supported. For the best experience of this website, please upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

BFC British Fashion Awards shortlist announced

The British Fashion Council has released the shortlist of nominees for the British Fashion ‘Oscars’ which takes place on December 9, bringing the 25th anniversary celebrations of London Fashion Week to an end.

The event, which takes place at the Royal Courts of Justice in The Strand in London, recognises the most influential people in the fashion industry.

Out of eleven categories, the top award is the Designer of the Year award which was won by Luella Bartley last year, who has since ceased trading.

John Galliano and Alexander McQueen have both won the title several times.

“This year’s nominee list highlights the extraordinary breadth of British design talent”

BFC joint chief executive Caroline Rush

This year there is a one-off London 25 Award decided by public vote, to celebrate an individual who embodies the spirit of London and is an international embassador for the capital’s fashion industry.

The BFC Award for Outstanding Achievement in Fashion Design recognises the achievements of one designer who has made an exceptional impact on global fashion.

burberry“>Burberry, mulberry“>Mulberry and Pringle of Scotland have been nominated for the Designer Brand award, while Graeme Fidler for aquascutum“>Aquascutum, Kim Jones for Dunhill, and Todd Lynn are the nominees for Menswear Designer.

Christopher Kane, Erdem, and Jonathan Saunders are shortlisted for the BFC British Collection of the Year, and Emma Hill for Mulberry, Katie Hillier, and Nicholas Kirkwood, have been nominated for the Accessory Designer title.

The Emerging Talent Award for Ready-to-Wear, is up for grabs by Mark Fast, Meadham Kirchhoff, and Peter Pilotto and the nominees for the Emerging Talent Award for Accessories, are Holly Fulton, Camilla Stovgaard, Jessica McCormack, and Maria Francesca Pepe.

Models Georgia Jagger, Rosie-Huntington-Whitely and Daisy Lowe will battle it out for the title of Model of the Year, previously won by the likes of Agyness Deyn, Karen Elson and Lily Cole.

BFC joint chief executive Caroline Rush said: “This year’s nominee list highlights the extraordinary breadth of British design talent. I would like to thank Swarovski for supporting two awards which recognise and financially reward emerging design talent, helping to support two of our newer designers as they establish their careers and businesses in Britain.”


Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.