Your browser is no longer supported. For the best experience of this website, please upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

BFC unveils Fashion Fund winner

The British Fashion Council has announced Molly Goddard as the winner of the annual BFC/Vogue Designer Fashion Fund.

Molly goddard

Molly Goddard

Womenswear designer and Drapers 30 under 30 alumni Goddard picked up the £200,000 cash prize designed to support, promote and nurture young fashion brands. Former winners of the prize include Erderm, Christopher Kane and Simone Rocha. Goddard is known for her voluminous tulle creations, and has become a celebrity favourite at London Fashion Week.

Also nominated were Rejina Pyo, Le Kilt, David Koma, Marques Almeida and Huishan Zhang. 

The judging committee was chaired by British Vogue editor-in-chief Edward Enninful, and included BFC chief executive Caroline Rush, designer Erdem Moralioglu, Topshop boss Paul Price, Label/Mix creative director Gemma Metheringham, Harrods chief merchant Helen David, fashion president Xia Ding and Burberry chief marketing officer Sarah Manley. Rodial founder Maria Hatzistefanis, model Jourdan Dunn and BFC ambassador for emerging talent Sarah Mower also made up the committee.

At the ceremony in London the BFC announced that it had raised over £2.2m over the past year for its charities and business support initiatives seeking to nurture British fashion talent. At the ceremony BFC CEO Caroline Rush committed to continuing this support, and ensuring a matching level of funding available for womenswear and menswear designers. “No-where has the creative talent in menswear that we have in London,” she said.

This year’s recipients of the BFC’s Newgen sponsorship were also announced at the event – this year the funding will go to A-COLD-WALL*, Alighieri, Charles Jeffrey LOVERBOY, Halpern, Isosceles, Kiko Kostadinov, Liam Hodges, Matty Bovan, Nicholas Daley, Paula Knorr, Per Gotesson, Phoebe English, Richard Malone, Richard Quinn, Supriya Lele, The Season Hats and Wales Bonner. Ones to watch awards went to Bianca Saunders and Pariah Farzaneh.

Sarah Mower, the BFC’s ambassador for emerging talent and chair of the Newgen committee praised the Newgen recipients as “a snapshot of the best and most innovative young fashion talent this country has to offer”.

She added: “Amongst this cohort, there are designers speaking up about things that matter- their identities, sustainability and ethical behaviour. They’re a super-inspiring generation; and we are incredibly grateful to all the experts who devote their time and advice to helping them achieve in business.”

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.