Your browser is no longer supported. For the best experience of this website, please upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Boardroom changes at Burberry

Burberry Group has announced that independent non-executive director and senior independent director Jeremy Darroch will step down from the business because of his other executive commitments. 

Darroch has been group chief executive at telecommunication company Sky since 2007. Before joining Sky as CFO in 2004, he was group finance director of DSG International (DSG), formerly Dixons Group. 

He will not stand for re-election at the company’s forthcoming annual general meeting on 15 July. 

Darroch joined the board in February 2014, before becoming senior independent director on 1 July 2017. He also served as chair of the audit committee from 1 August 2016 to 6 February 2019. 

Meanwhile, Dame Carolyn McCall, who has been an independent non-executive director since 1 September 2014,  will assume the role of senior independent director with effect from the 15 July.

McCall has been CEO of TV production company ITV since 2018. From 2010 to 2017 she was CEO of EasyJet and held a number of roles at the Guardian Media Group, including CEO from 2006 to 2010. 

Chairman Gerry Murphy said: “On behalf of the board, I would like to thank Jeremy for his outstanding contribution to Burberry’s development over the last six years. We shall miss his wisdom and experience and we wish him the very best for the future.”

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.