Your browser is no longer supported. For the best experience of this website, please upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Everywoman in Retail Awards names finalists

The owner of Manchester premium indie Black White Denim, the joint chief executive of Boohoo and the brand director at George at Asda are among the finalists of this year’s Specsavers Everywoman in Retail Awards.

The awards were set up five years ago to address the lack of women in senior positions across the retail industry. The awards were judged by top executives including Vanessa Gold, managing director of Ann Summers and Wendy Hallett, founder of concessions business Hallett Retail.

Below is the list of finalists in the clothing and accessories industry:


Star of the Future Award - in a business with a turnover under £200m

Alyssa Smith, founder, director and jewellery designer maker, Jewellery Limited from Hertfordshire

Lydia Smith, assistant manager, Whistles from Nottingham

Jennifer Welford, owner/operator, The Pokey Hat from Glasgow


Star of the Future Award - in a business with a turnover over £200m

Hayley Hartwell, womenswear buyer, George – Asda from Leicester

Leader of the Year Award - in a business with a turnover under £200m

Jo Davies, founder and managing director, Black White Denim from Cheshire

Sarah Halsall, retail director, Liberty from London


Leader of the Year Award - in a business with a turnover over £200m

Judith McKenna, chief operating officer, Asda from Leeds


Innovator of the Year Award

Leanne Curtis-Cobb, creative director, QuackQuackMoo from Kent

Fiona Lambert, George brand director, George from Leicester


Entrepreneur of the Year Award

Geraldine Hurd, company director, Betty and Belle from Cheshire

Viviane Jaeger and Emma-Jayne Parkes, co-founders, SquidLondon from London

Harriet Vine and Rosie Wolfenden, co-founders, Tatty Devine from London


Online Retailer of the Award

Dessislava Bell, founder, Zaggora from London

Carol Kane, joint chief executive, from Manchester

Melissa Littler, marketing and PR director, from London


The winners will be announced at the Specsavers Everywoman in Retail Awards at The Savoy on September 13, along with the award for Woman of the Year, which will be selected from all finalists.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.