Your browser is no longer supported. For the best experience of this website, please upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We use cookies to personalise your experience; learn more in our Privacy and Cookie Policy. You can opt out of some cookies by adjusting your browser settings; see the cookie policy for details. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Fashion names recognised in New Year's Honours

Celine creative director Phoebe Philo is among those to be recognised on the New Year’s Honours List.

Philo has been awarded an OBE, or an Officer of the Order of the British Empire, for her services to fashion. Philo, who joined Celine from Chloe in 2008, has previously been credited with transforming the French label into one of the most influential I the industry today.

Julia Carrick, former chief executive of Walpole and now a global ambassador for the luxury trade body, has been given an OBE for her services to the British luxury goods industry.

Bradford Textile Society director Paul Whitaker has also been given an OBE for his services to the textile industry.

Textile designer and print tutor at Central Saint Martins Natalie Gibson has too been recognised for her services to the fashion and textile industry with an MBE.

Keith Musto, founder of the Musto clothing brand, has been made an OBE for his services to the economy.  

Alison Carnwath, chairman of property firm Land Securities, has been made a Dame of the British Empire for her services to business.

An OBE has also been awarded to David Shaw, head of the Regent Street portfolio  of The Crown Estate, for services to the retail industry and for his voluntary service.

Pat McGrath, the celebrated make-up artist, has been made an MBE for her services to the fashion and beauty industries.

A British Empire Medal goes to Anne Phillips, manager of the Peacocks Restaurant within the independent department store, McEwen’s of Perth, for her services to business and tourism in Perthshire.

Read the full New Year’s Honours list here

Related files

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.