Your browser is no longer supported. For the best experience of this website, please upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Graduate Fashion Week winners announced

Myrto Stamou of UCA Rochester picked up the River Island Gold Award and the Womenswear Award at Graduate Fashion Week last night.

Stamou was named the overall winner at Graduate Fashion Week last night, picking up a prize of £20,000 from River Island chief executive Richard Bradbury. She also picked up the womenswear award.

Bradbury said: “I thought it was a beautiful collection with a distinctive style. All the judges agreed that you would not be surprised to see this range on sale tomorrow. The quality, the attention to detail and the clarity of the focus of the collection made it hard to believe this was the work of a graduating student.”

Giles Deacon, who was on the judging panel at GFW, added: “We chose the winner of the River Island Womenswear Award because we felt her collection had a very strong signature style. It was a cohesive range which could easily be sold tomorrow. “

Mehmet Ali from Ravensbourne University won the Menswear Award.

Lorraine Candy, editor in chief of Elle magazine, who also sat on the judging panel, said: “We chose Mehmet Ali for the Menswear Award because he talked very intelligently about his influences and direction.  This was further demonstrated by his portfolio and technical skills which shone through.  A great all rounder.”

Other winners were as follows:

Zandra Rhodes Catwalk Textiles Award - Charlotte Simpson, Northumbria University

Pringle of Scotland Visionary Knitwear Award - Sarah Burton, Manchester Metropolotan University of Art

Fashion Innovation Award - Nicola Morgan, Northumbria University

Mulberry Accessories Award - Verity Pemberton, Winchester School of Art

Textiles Award - Calum Harvey, Ravensbourne College of Design and Communications

The Hachette Filipaachi Media and Design Award - Charlotte Webb, Middlesex University

The Lyle & Scott Strategic Marketing Award - Laura booth, University of Central Lancashire

Per Aquum Creative Marketing Award - Christina Duggan, Northumbria University

Jon Adam Fashion Portfolio Award - Dulcie Dryen, Northumbria University

The “First Word” Journalism Award - Yuka Maeno, University of Creative Arts, Epsom





Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.