Your browser is no longer supported. For the best experience of this website, please upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Graduate Fashion Week winners named

Rory Longdon of Nottingham Trent University picked up the top award of the night at Graduate Fashion Week last night receiving the Gold Award.

Longdon was named the overall winner at the Graduate Fashion Week event held at Earls Court 2, picking up a prize of £20,000 from judges, Amanda Wakeley, womenswear designer, Patrick Grant, creative director of tailor Norton & Sons and E.Tautz, Lucy Yeomans, editor of Harpers Bazaar and Fiona Lambert, brand director of George.

Marissa Owen from the University of Central Lancashire won the womenswear award and Felix Chabluk Smith from Edinburgh College of Art won the menswear award. Talking about Smith, Grant said: “The winner was chosen because of their clever use of historic patterns, rewritten with a romantic narrative and a modern execution and excellent construction.”


Other winners were as follows:

Zandra Rhodes Catwalk Textiles Award - Dominique Kral, Northbrook College

The Stuart Peters Visionary Knitwear Award - Wonjee Chung, Nottingham Trent University

International Award- Christina Economu, Marangoni Paris

Gala Music Award - Kingston University

Hammerson Fashion Innovation Award - Parsha Gerayesh, The University of Westminster

Mulberry Accessories Award - Molly Ratcliff, Northumbria University

The David Band Textiles Award - Sarika Pancholi, De Montfort University

The Lifeline IT Media and Design Award - Lauren Brown & Sophia Sabados, UCA Epsom

Per Aquum Creative Marketing Award - Charoula Demosthenous, UCA Epsom

Stand Design Award - Edinburgh College of Art by Erin Thompson

Karen Millen Fashion Portfolio Award - Kyle Spires, Edinburgh University

The “First Word” Journalism Award - Kimberley Dines, University of Central Lancashire

Barclays New Business Idea Award - Hsin Yee Wong, UCA Epsom

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.