Your browser is no longer supported. For the best experience of this website, please upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Nominees announced for Texprint Programme 2013

The Texprint Programme unveiled its nominees for the 2013 competition yesterday (July 10), with a breakfast presentation of this year’s 24 designers.

Selected from graduates across the UK, the final 24 will be mentored by Texprint and their work exhibited at textiles fair Indigo/ Première Vision in Paris in September.

Four prizes of £1,000 are up for grabs, across four categories; Body, Space, Colour and Pattern. A further designer will also be also chosen to receive the Lululemon Texprint Award sponsored by Lululemon Athletica. The winner will receive a three-month paid internship at Lululemon’s headquarters in Vancouver as well as the £1,000 prize.

Speaking to Drapers at the event, the graduate finalists expressed their pleasure at being given the opportunity to present their work to buyers through the programme.

Hannah Hope-Johnson, of Leeds School of Art, said that visiting Indigo/ Première Vision in September would be her first experience at a professional trade show. “It’s really exciting” she said “I’m hoping for the opportunity to make contacts within the industry and hopefully sell some of my designs.”

Lucy Jones, of Manchester School of Art, echoed these sentiments, saying “I’m just fresh out of uni and it still feels like we have so much to learn. It helps so much to have this support to get us started.”

The Texprint programme, which is funded by industry and charitable institutions including Marks and Spencer, WGSN and the Woolmark Company, has been running for over 40 years. Famous Texprint alumni include Alice Temperley and scarf designer Emma J. Shipley.

The 2013 panel of judges, who selected the final 24 and will choose the five prize winners include Deanne Schweitzer, SVP creation, Lululemon Athletica; Tamsin Blanchard,  style director of the Telegraph Magazine; Madeleine Press, designer and knitwear expert; Emma Kidd from creative direction team at Selfridges.

For the full list of nominees, see below. The winners will be announced at Indigio/Première Vision in Paris on September 18.


Body - Pepe Lowe (Chelsea College of Art), Kazusa Takamura (Chelsea), Alice Archer (RCA and previously Goldsmiths College)
Space - Paul Roberts (Loughborough University), Heather JY Cheung (Heriot-Watt University) and Ffion Griffith (Chelsea) 
Colour - Danni Fairchild (Central St Martins), Taslima Sultana (CSM) and Gillian Louise Murphy (Glasgow School of Art)
Pattern - Elizabeth Ashdown (CSM), Danni Fairchild (CSM) and Cherica Haye (RCA and previously CSM)

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.