Your browser is no longer supported. For the best experience of this website, please upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Shortlist announced for 10th anniversary of the Scottish Fashion Awards

Holly Fulton, Christopher Kane, Jonathan Saunders, Kestin Hare and Patrick Grant for E Tautz will battle it out to be crowned Scottish designer of the year at the 10th anniversary of the Scottish Fashion Awards in London in September.

The black-tie ‘Highland Gathering’, which will be held on September 3 at the Corinthia Hotel London, will be co-hosted by David Mundell, secretary of state for Scotland, and chairman and awards founder Dr Tessa Hartmann.

The judging will start next week with a panel that includes Drapers’ editorial director Eric Musgrave, British Fashion Council chief executive Caroline Rush, Glamour editor Jo Elvin and Marie Claire editor-in-chief Trish Halpin.

“We’re having a gala party this year to showcase the incredible Scottish fashion, design and textile talent we have working in Scotland and around the world,” said Hartmann.

“There will be DJs and a club décor to replace the formality of banqueting tables. Once the awards are presented the celebrations will begin and, as you know, we Scots do love to throw a good party.”

The nominees are as follows:

Scottish Designer of the Year

  • Holly Fulton
  • Christopher Kane
  • Jonathan Saunders
  • Kestin Hare
  • Patrick Grant for E Tautz

Scottish Textile Brand/Manufacturer of the Year

  • Robert Noble
  • ESK
  • Barrie
  • Edition Scotland
  • Brora

Communicator of the Year

  • Lynsey Alexander – Make-up Artist
  • Trish Ward – Photographer
  • Gordon J Millar – Scot Street Style
  • Stewart Bryden – Photographer
  • Lindsay Macpherson – Fashion features editor, Harrods Magazine

Scottish Young Designer of the Year

  • Le Kilt
  • Cats Brothers
  • Mairi McDonald
  • Emily Millichip
  • Kelly Dawn Riot

Scottish Fashion Graduate of the Year

  • Rachael Eustace (Edinburgh College of Art)
  • Melissa Villevieille (Edinburgh College of Art)
  • Jonathan Douglas (Glasgow School of Art)
  • Charles Jeffrey (Central St Martins)
  • Ryan Cowie (Gray’s School of Art, Robert Gordon University)

Scottish Retailer of the Year

  • Walker Slater

Scottish Model of the Year

  • Misha Hart (Viva London)
  • Paul Carrigan (Storm/Model Team)
  • Jean Campbell (Viva London)
  • Eilie Bennett (Next Management Miami)

Scottish Accessory Designer of the Year

  • Strathberry of Scotland
  • Karen Mabon
  • Hunter
  • Finlay & Co

Luxury Retailer of the Year

  • Harvey Nichols (Edinburgh)
  • Watches of Switzerland (Glasgow)
  • Belstaff (Glasgow)
  • Burberry (Edinburgh)
  • Emporio Armani (Glasgow)

International Designer (for best use of Scottish fabric)

  • Kate Spade New York
  • Moschino
  • Topman
  • I’M Isola Marras

Readers' comments (3)

  • Good luck to all those who are shortlisted. The club décor and DJ’s will certainly fuel the celebrations and make for a super fun evening, and no doubt an interesting album of photos. An interesting discussion about the validity of these awards is taking place, join in the conversation to give your view.

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

  • Eric Musgrave

    David, the Scottish Fashion Awards, now in their 10th year, have no connection with Drapers or any of our four national fashion retailing awards. I am pleased, however, that on occasion someone from Drapers is invited to join the SFA judging panel.

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

  • Hi Eric, very sorry for my misunderstanding. With the Topic being 'Industry Awards', our article may still be of interest to readers. We would very much welcome your comment across on our article if you would have a moment to spare.

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.