Your browser is no longer supported. For the best experience of this website, please upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Sophia Webster wins BFC/Vogue Designer Fashion Fund

Footwear designer Sophia Webster has won this year’s British Fashion Council/Vogue Designer Fashion Fund.

Sophia webster

The fund was established in 2008 and provides one designer with a year-long mentoring support programme and a £200,000 grant.

Webster beat competition from Emilia Wickstead, Mother of Pearl and Osman for the 2016 prize.

The designers were invited to The Shard in London to present their collections and five-year business plans to the fund’s judging committee, which included British Vogue editor Alexandra Shulman, British Fashion Council chief executive Caroline Rush, Joan Burstein – affectionately known as Mrs B – founder of Browns, Topshop managing director Mary Homer and guest judge Victoria Beckham.

Shulman, who is chair of the BFC/Vogue Designer Fashion Fund, said: “Sophia Webster is a great winner for this year’s award. The brand encapsulates all the originality and creativity that British fashion is known for while Sophia and her team have pursued a clear vision with drive and professionalism.”

Rush added: “The judging committee was impressed by her brilliant talent and thorough business acumen, seeing great potential for developing her label into an internationally acclaimed British brand. Sophia has an amazing ability to turn accessories into masterpieces and we are thrilled to support her at an exciting time of growth.”

Now in its seventh year, the fund is a legacy project from the BFC’s 25th anniversary celebrations.

Previous winners are: Mary Katrantzou (2015), Peter Pilotto (2014) Nicholas Kirkwood (2013), Jonathan Saunders (2012), Christopher Kane (2011) and Erdem (2010).

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.