Your browser is no longer supported. For the best experience of this website, please upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Stella McCartney picks up Designer of the Year

Stella McCartney picked up the prestigious Designer of the Year Award at the British Fashion Awards last night.

Dame Vivienne Westwood received the award for Outstanding Achievement in Fashion Design, in recognition of revolutionising fashion. She began designing clothes in 1971 but her 1981 show called Pirate put her firmly on the fashion map as an original design talent.

Scottish designer Christopher Kane won the New Designer of the Year Award.

Anya Hindmarch collected the Designer Brand Award while Burberry creative director Christopher Bailey picked up the award for Menswear Designer.

Jewellery designer Tom Binns won the Accessory Designer Award.

Marc Jacobs was awarded Best Retail Concept for his first standalone UK store on Mount Street in Mayfair.

British design duo Georgina Chapman and Keren Craig, founders of Marchesa, won the award for Red Carpet Designer.

Erdem Moralioglu was this year’s recipient of the £50,000 BFC Fashion Enterprise Award, funded by Swarovski.

The face of Burberry, Giorgio Armani and Mulberry, Agyness Deyn won the Model of the Year Award.

British production designer Michael Howells, best known for his work with designer John Galliano, won the Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.