Your browser is no longer supported. For the best experience of this website, please upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Two more non-executive directors leave Tesco board

A further two non-executive directors will step down from the Tesco board next month in the wake of the £263m accounting scandal.

Ken Hanna, chairman of the troubled supermarket chain’s audit committee, will step down at the firm’s annual shareholders’ meeting on June 26. Hanna joined the board in 2009 and became chairman of the audit committee in October 2012.

He will be replaced by former BP finance director Byron Grote, who joined Tesco’s board this month.

Former chief executive of glass producer Pilkington Stuart Chambers, who has sat on Tesco’s board since 2012, will step down at the same time.

The move follows the departure of non-executive directors Patrick Cescau, Liv Garfield and Jacqueline Tammenoms Bakker who have all left since February.

Deanna Oppenheimer is the only non-executive remaining from Phil Clarke’s time at the helm, having joined the board in September 2013. Clarke was replaced by Dave Lewis as chief executive last autumn.


Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.