Your browser is no longer supported. For the best experience of this website, please upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

The Womenswear Issue: Set the tone for the season with your buy

Tonal index

Make a warm, rich palette the base of your autumn 19 buy, alongside on-trend animal prints and textural interest to contrast and enhance. 

Styling and words by Graeme Moran    Photography by Owen Reynolds

Tonal shoot 1

Sugarhill Brighton Acrylic mix jumper, £19.65; Urban Bliss Denim skirt, £8.50; RM Williams Leather boots, £188.40

Tonal shoot 2

A growing tailoring trend focuses on soft, unstructured shapes for a louche look

Native Youth Tencel jacket, £22.25, and trousers, £15; John Smedley Merino wool jumper, £56.20

Head-to-toe blocks of tonal colour combos are a simple yet effective new-season style 

Hanro Wool jumper, price on request; Paisie Polyester trousers, £31

Tonal shoot 3

Exotic animal prints carry through the season – neutral-based feline spots are your best bet

Tommy Hilfiger Cotton mix coat, £109.45; Sofie Schnoor Polyester dress, £106; RM Williams Leather boots, £188.40

Texture will add tactile interest to your buy – velvet should be top of your list

Emily & Fin Viscose mix dress, £52 

Tonal shoot 4

Wink to the season’s 1970s flair with wide-legged, high-waisted trousers 

John Smedley Wool jumper, £65.20; 2ndday Cotton mix jeans, £47

Blur the line between smart and casual layers with lightweight tailoring 

Marc Cain Cotton mix blazer, £130.40, and viscose mix jumper, £96.10

Tonal shoot 5

Believe in sleeves for autumn 19, as longer-length dresses create a covered-up look 

Paisie Cotton mix dress, £30

The mid-length pleated skirt remains a perennial favourite, now updated in autumn’s fresh palette

John Smedley Wool jumper, £108.70; Gestuz Polyester skirt, £40; RM Williams Leather boots, £188.40

Tonal shoot 6

Classic tailoring comes sleek and chic for autumn, and velvet details add a touch of luxe

Amanda Wakeley Wool mix blazer, £289, and trousers, £164; John Smedley Merino wool jumper, £56,20

Delicate printed dresses are perfect when layered with the coat of the season – the chubby fake fur

Native Youth Polyester coat, £37; Emily & Fin Viscose dress, £52; RM Williams Leather boots, £188.40

 

  

 

Model Emily Viviane at Elite Model Management

Hair Yusuke Morioka at Coffin Inc using Bumble & Bumble

Make-up Nicola Brittin at Saint Luke Artists

Fashion assistant Heather Gwyther

All prices are wholesale

 

Wholesale stockists

2ndday +45 20 40 32 54 2ndday.com

Airfield 020 7584 4159 airfield-onlineshop.com

Alpha Industries 01869 366580 ma-1.com

Amanda Wakeley 020 3691 2981 amandawakeley.com

Barbour 07725 596650 barbour.com/uk

Dea Kudibal 07783 118365 deakudibal.com

Ellesse 01484 466800 ellesse.co.uk

Emily & Fin 020 7812 9992 emilyandfin.co.uk

Essentiel Antwerp 020 7580 8644 lwfa.co.uk

Falke 020 7493 8442 falke.com

Filippa K +46 8615 7000 filippa-k.com

Frank Walder 07973 863693 frankwalder.com

GH Bass 020 7449 4740 ghbass-eu.com

Gestuz 020 3302 8867 gestuz.com

Guess 020 7702 0203 lovebrandsuk.com

Gushlow & Cole 01959 535066 gushlowandcole.com

Hanro +43 676 83505 6661 hanro.co.uk

Iden 020 7436 0855 idendenim.com

John Smedley 01629 534571 johnsmedley.com

Joules 01858 435261 joules.com

Luisa Cerano 020 7323 6100 luisacerano.com

Marc Cain 020 7436 0705 marc-cain.com

MDK 07531 421686 style-fuel.com

Munthe 020 3302 8867 munthe.com

Native Youth 0161 835 2064 native-youth.com

Nu Denmark 020 7702 0203 lovebrandsuk.com

Paisie 07841 135077 paisie.com

Project AJ117 020 8964 0482 webshop.project-aj117.com

RM Williams 01920 444291 rmwilliams.com

Six Ames 07531 421686 style-fuel.com

Sofie Schnoor +45 70 20 93 98 sofieschnoorwebshop.com

Sugarhill Brighton 01273 911814 sugarhillbrighton.com

Triana by C 020 8964 0482 winnie-and-eds.com

Tommy Hilfiger 020 3144 0900 uk.tommy.com

Tretorn 01633 485365 gb.tretorn.com/

Tuzzi 07956 216801 tuzzi.de

Urban Bliss 0161 839 0044 weareurbanbliss.trade

Wrangler 0800 9178582 wrangler.co.uk/uk-en/

 

 

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.